Tournament History: May 2011

Tournament History: May 2011
The 2nd Kicking Cancer’s Butt Tournament

Over $10,000 Donated to the Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation
After the success of the 1st tournament in may 2010, the Kicking Cancer’s Butt tournament was back a year later for the first of (hopefully) many sequels. 400 recreational soccer players gathered in the East End of the city and raised $10,000 for the Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation. The 2nd Kicking Cancer’s Butt Coed soccer tournament brought together 33 teams from all over the National Capital Region. Even the wet weather couldn’t dampen the spirits of the teams as all games took place on the indoor turf at the Louis Riel Dome in Blackburn Hamlet.
Tournament organisers Chris Surgeoner, Joel Convery and David Gisborne of Ottawa Footy Sevens presented Melissa Brunet of the Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation with a cheque for $10,278. The donation had been raised from team entry fees, donations and teams “bribing” the referees to award them penalty kicks in exchange for donations to the ORCF. “I’d like to thank all of the players, and especially the referees and volunteers who gave up their time for free and helped us continue the tradition of ensuring that every penny of every entry fee or donation goes directly to the charity.” said Chris Surgeoner, “We’ve now raised almost $16,000 in the first two years of the event and hopefully established it as an annual date on the calendars of soccer players in Ottawa.”
The tournament kicked off at 10am on Saturday morning and two days and 78 games later the final whistle brought the last game to a close. The final saw the Inca Kola Bros defeat Nutmeg FC by the narrowest of margins. The game looked destined for penalty kicks until the Inca Kola Bros slid home the rebound after another point-blank save from Nutmeg’s goalie. With less than a minute remaining after the goal, Nutmeg had little time to find an equaliser and when the final whistle went, it was Inca Kola Bros captain Miguel Sevillano who accepted the trophy on behalf of his team.
For further details of this year’s tournment, please go to or contact Chris at

2011 Champions
2011 Champions: Inca Kola Bros

Leave a Reply